Hoi An, Vietnam

by rc

Hoi An was spared from American bombing and is now a riverside town primarily known for silk and tailors. One can tailor make anything here. Suits, gowns, hats, shoes (sneakers, sandals too), trekking pants?! Even bikinis. Cost of suit (jacket and pants) ranges from $90-150. If an Aussie says it costs more to dry clean than a tailor made dress shirt ($20), then something is really out of whack! Here are some scenes.

image
First fitting. I ended up revisiting them 3 times. I’m just a princess when it comes to custom made.
image
People light incense around twice a day. Ancestor worship and praying for good fortune. Full moons and beginning of months are also times of lighting incense. Strong customs.
image
Me being a stalker again. Quite a beautiful photoshoot!
image
Sign with “fixed prices.” Good information for the savvy bargainer.
image
La plage. A nice bar fully equipped with everything you’d want at a beach. I did the pull ups and yoga routine. (That’s a routine??)

image

Scene: sleeper bus. Wife: "I can't sleep with this Vietnamese conductor man laying on the floor between me and my husband." Conductor: "I gotta hit the sack, man, screw it." Husband: "I'm just going to put on my headlamp and pretend nothing's happening. I've seen worse from the wifey. This is nothing."