How I pack

by rc

image

I wouldn’t consider myself experienced in international travel. I simply never wished I had packed more.

image

Bags
My backpack is a day pack from an REI garage sale that I picked up 5 years ago for $5. I think its capacity is 18L. In addition I have a stuff sack (thanks Fred!) that serves as my expansion pack (latches on with 2 carabiners, thanks Colleen!) e.g. for dirty laundry.

image

Clothes
Muji zip up bag – all my clothes are rolled up and stuffed in here. In all I brought:
3 pairs of underwear
3 pairs of socks
2 t-shirts
3 long sleeve shirts
1 athletic pant
1 all purpose pant
1 raincoat
1 light down jacket
1 pair of flip flops
1 pair of running shoes
1 pair of trekking shoes

My sleep gear of an inflatable pillow, silk liner and eye mask all fit in here too.

image

Electronics
Phone – Samsung galaxy nexus
Camera – canon point and shoot (thanks, Winnie!)
OTG cable and SD card readers – so my camera and phone can interact
iPhone – music from my youth
Sunglasses
Chargers
Batteries
International power adapter
Headlamp

First aid – basic pain and scrape treatment

Water filter – trying not to buy too many plastic bottles during this trip

Toiletries – dental and soap/shampoo

image

Other
Multitool
Can opener
Insect repellent
Ointments
Vitamins
Ear plugs
Rope (hang clothes, thanks Stanford postdocs!)
Spare toothbrush

Additional stuff
Tissue paper roll
Kindle
Notebook

Since almost everything I have has its redundancies, I could afford to lose more stuff. But as is, volume wise I carry about a third of what most other travelers seem to haul, and walking around with everything is comfortable enough. Not a terrible setup for exploring Southeast Asia.