Saying goodbye

by rc

farewell

Another turning point a fork stuck in the road. Time grabs you by the wrist directs you where to go. So make the best of this test and don’t ask why. It’s not a question but a lesson learned in time. It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right. I hope you have the time of your life.

When I left school, I played Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) by Green Day to Grade 5, reminiscing, however cornily, that this was the song we sang when I was their age and leaving school. Scrolling the lyrics on my phone, they entertainingly sang along too.
To the most participatory class, Grade 7, I told them a Barry Hearn life lesson ripped off of the Men in Blazers podcast: All of us are limited in the same way – there are only 24 hrs in a day. You can compete with anybody if you work harder. I felt incredibly cheesy, but with kids you never know what works.

This is the farewell assembly in which the students each said “Namaste” and some gave me the sash called “Kada.” A proper sendoff fit for kings!

kada
We kicked off the last day with a football game, in which my team won 6-2, and the wager on the game was a rooster for dinner, so I bought a rooster (I was spared the sight of the slaughtering) for dinner, which was the first time they had eaten meat at school in the last 6 months.

All together a mighty wonderful day.